This island is one of 505 uninhabited islands in Nagasaki Japanese administration area, about 15 kilometers from Nagasaki. The island is known as “Gunkan Jima” or the island of warships. In the year 1890 a company (Mitsubishi) bought the island and began a project to retrieve coal from the seabed around the island. In 1916 they built the first large concrete on the island, a block of apartments built for the workers and also serves to protect them from hurricanes.
In 1959, population had swelled, the population density reached 835 people per hectare for the whole island (1391 per hectare for residential central region), a dense population...